Google restores app permissions list to Play Store – TechCrunch


Google said today it is reinstating the list of app permissions on the Play Store after initially stripping them in place of the data security labels that were rolled out earlier this month. However, the company has not specified when the authorization section will return to the Play Store.

Google launched the Data Security Labels on Play Store in April after announcing them last year. Apple, on the other hand, launched its own data privacy labels in 2020 indicating what data an app can collect from you.

As Google rolled out the in-app data security label over the past few months, several blogs and researchers noted that Google also removed the permissions section, allowing you to see what type of data access an app has on your phone, from the Play Store.

Earlier this month, Google confirmed to TechCrunch that it removed the permissions section from the Play Store on July 13, but did not specify why it was removed. Google said it was reinstated based on the Android Community Feed, but didn’t explain why it was removed in the first place.

You can still go to the apps menu on your phone and check the permissions for the individual app, but that’s not just reflected on the Google App Store install page. But the new change will let you see both data security labels and app permissions right from the Play Store.

This means you can easily understand what data an app has access to through the permissions section and why it needs permission to access that data through the Data Security section.

Notably, Google’s rule that requires developers to declare the data security section for their apps went into effect on July 20. The company noted that apps that violate this rule will be “subject to policy enforcement” – meaning their updates could be blocked.

This is Google’s second major announcement on the Play Store in the week after allowing non-game app developers to use alternative payment systems for users in the European Economic Area (EEA) – which includes 27 EU countries, Norway, Iceland and Liechtenstein.

Source link


Comments are closed.